Cute Ladybug Nails

7 Jul

Image

I wanted to try something more simple, cute and literally light, so when I noticed ladybugs on Alexa Chung’s twitter photo I had to try them out. Doing nail designs always weighs down my fingertips because of the amount of coats needed for the design but this is lighter and also more natural looking in a way since I haven’t done a coloured background. I have actually been trying to think of ways to keep my nail clear coated but still with some sort of design because I really like the shape and tips of my nails naturally. So this is perfect and what’s more, you don’ have to wait for a layer to dry until going to the next step (until the final step when applying top coat).

I did my ladybugs at an angle and almost at the tip of my nail to create the effect of them crawling. I know real ladybugs have black on the top of their heads but I didn’t want to be too fussy about it deatil, either way it’d still look ladybird/ladybug to me.

To keep it looking natural I decided to use a clear coat as the base, I used No7’s So Bright Nail Brightener which instantly brightens up your nails, making it look more lighter brighter and healthier.

Image

What else I used:

Barry M Matt WhiteRimmel London Lycra Pro Coral Romance and Barry M Black.  I particularly like Rimmel’s Coral Romance as a red, it’s so bright and orangy red (simply coral really).

You’ll notice the background effect when the ladybird clashes against it.

Step 1: Apply Nail Brightener or any other base, it could even be a coloured base.

Step 2: Use your nail paint brush to create an oval shape, don’t worry about it being absolutely perfect, it isn’t noticeable when you add the finishing touches. TIP: To make sure it isn’t all blobby go over it with a hair grip removing any excess nail paint but careful not to remove too much.

Image

Step 3: With a nail art brush (dip the brush into your chosen colour, black) draw in the antennas, again, you don’t have to worry about perfection, this was a surprisingly easy step.

Image

Image

Step 4: Add the black dots (as many or as little as you like) with a hair grip end by dabbing the end into the nail paint bottle careful not to take up too much. Dot it onto your ladybirds. Note: Application is easier when you pull the hair grip apart as shown in many of my nail art posts.

Image

You may want to do smaller black dots as legs on their sides, but it doesn’t really matter a you can’t see their legs when you look down on an actual ladybug.

Step 5: Give your ladybug some eyes with the same method as you did the black dots.

Image

Step 6: Just go over with a clear top coat for protection. Or if you want to leave it this way like I sometimes do since I hate the weight it gives on my fingernails, you can do this since this nail design isn’t all blobby with lot’s of tricky steps.

Finally…

Image

A closer look…

Image

Image

Coming up…

Swallow/Bird Print Nails!

and

How To Wear Coloured Jeans

Leave a Reply

StevenDavisUK

Best Place to GET Inspired and STAY Motivated

A Lovely Look

Lifestyle blog about DIYs, crafts, beauty tips and travel.

Little Weir

backwards, forwards, sometimes sideways

Romance University

Fashionista Picks | For Fashion, Beauty & Life

MOODY WRITING

Fashionista Picks | For Fashion, Beauty & Life

The Write Practice

The Online Writing Workbook

Make A Living Writing

Fashionista Picks | For Fashion, Beauty & Life

The Creative Penn

Just another WordPress.com site

Positive Writer

A blog to inspire, encourage and motivate you!

Goins, Writer

On Writing, Ideas, and Making a Difference

The Neighborhood

society online's social conscious

The World of Peachtree Publishers

Fashionista Picks | For Fashion, Beauty & Life

How to Write a Another Novel

Fashionista Picks | For Fashion, Beauty & Life

Shawn L. Bird

Original poetry, commentary, and fiction. All copyrights reserved.

ellisnelson

children's author

Matt Andrews | The Guardian

Fashionista Picks | For Fashion, Beauty & Life

Recent Articles

Fashionista Picks | For Fashion, Beauty & Life

